Life With A MacBook – Day 1

28 12 2008

So it’s been about 27 hours since I first pressed the power switch on my shiny new computer. I’ve had to do about 12 updates, and three of these required a system restart, but that didn’t take long. Most of the applications I’m going to want are installed, including Photoshop Elements 6, Adium, Skype, NetNewsWire, Audacity, WireTap Pro and Office 2008. All day today I’ve been playing with it, customising settings and whatnot, and watched an hour and 40 minutes of TV shows and movies transferred from my iPod in between downloads. I also spent about three hours searching for a suitable case for it, and eventually found one on Amazon for about £13. I have just given up looking for a free alternative to Coda, because I can’t find one. Oh well. It’s not overly important – it was just for fun stuff like making Dock Icons for Adium. Finally, I’ve been getting used to Quıcĸsıɩⅴεʀ, the “unified, extensible interface for working with applications, contacts, music, and other data.” It’s rather nifty; I can open an application by typing four keystrokes – for example, S-A-F-Return opens Safari – and play a song from iTunes without going anywhere near my music library. I’m off to have some more quality Me & MacBook time. Bye bye!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

